LASSOL

Laser doping of solar cells

Eyecatcher LASSOLThe goal of the project is to demonstrate a significantly enhanced efficiency of silicon solar cells by selectively fabricating emitter structures with increased doping concentration using pulsed green laser radiation under industrial conditions. On wafers doped with low concentration in a furnace, locally highly doped structures shall be created which will enable to markedly improve the efficiency. This will lead to a significant reduction of the specific costs (in Euro per Watt) of the solar cells.

At the same time, the feasibility of full-area laser doping of solar cells will be investigated. This technique would allow to completely avoid the costly standard doping process in a continuous furnace and to replace it by a compact, energy saving laser doping machine which performs the full-area doping within one second. This laser doping would allow using thinner wafers which would save a considerable amount of raw material.

In contrast to other published structuring methods, the proposed laser doping process allows fabricating the selective emitter structure in just one process step and to keep all prior and subsequent process steps the same. This will lead to a very cost-efficient method that is easy to integrate in existing production lines.

The commercial potential of laser doping is enormous. In the case of success, the implementation of laser doping will safeguard and strengthen the position of the German solar cell manufacturers.

Contact

Dr. Andreas Voss
University Stuttgart, Institute for Beam Tools (IFSW)
Pfaffenwaldring 43
D-70569 Stuttgart / Germany
Tel. +49 (711) 685-66854
Fax +49 (711) 685-66842
e-mail:andreas.voss@ifsw.uni-stuttgart.de

Project partners

LIMO Lissotschenko Mikrooptik GmbH
Manz Automation AG
Schott Solar AG
Solarwatt Cells GmbH
Trumpf Laser GmbH & Co. KG
University Stuttgart, Institute for Physical Electronics
University Stuttgart, Institute for Beam Tools

LASSOL

Laserdotieren von Solarzellen

Eyecatcher LASSOLDas Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist es, eine signifikante Steigerung der Effizienz von Silizium-Solarzellen durch die lasergestützte Einbringung selektiv höher dotierter Emitterstrukturen unter industrierelevanten Bedingungen nachzuweisen. Auf im Ofen niedrig dotierten Wafern sollen mittels eines gepulsten Lasers mit einer Emission im grünen Wellenlängenbereich lokal hoch dotierte Strukturen erzeugt werden. Der Wirkungsgrad wird damit signifikant steigen. Hierdurch können die spezifischen Kosten der Solarzellen (in Euro pro Watt) deutlich gesenkt werden.

Parallel hierzu soll auch die Machbarkeit effizienter, vollflächig laserdotierter Solarzellen untersucht werden. Dieses Verfahren könnte das heute übliche, aufwändige Dotieren in einem Durchlaufofen ersetzen und das komplette Dotieren eines Wafers in einer kompakten, energiesparenden Laserdotieranlage innerhalb einer Sekunde ermöglichen. Zudem könnte die Möglichkeit, dünnere Solarzellen zu verwenden, den Rohstoffverbrauch erheblich reduzieren.

Die vorgeschlagene Laserdotierung ermöglicht es, anders als bisher vorgestellte Strukturierungsverfahren, eine selektive Emitterstruktur mit nur einem zusätzlichen Prozessschritt zu erzeugen und gleichzeitig alle vorausgehenden und nachfolgenden Prozessschritte beizubehalten. Dadurch ist das Verfahren potenziell sehr kostengünstig und bestens geeignet, in eine bereits vorhandene Produktionslinie integriert zu werden.

Das wirtschaftliche Potenzial ist enorm. Durch den Einsatz des Laserdotierens in der Solarzellenproduktion wird im Erfolgsfall die weltweit führende Position deutscher Solarzellenhersteller gesichert und ausgebaut.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Andreas Voß
Universität Stuttgart, Institut für Strahlwerkzeuge (IFSW)
Pfaffenwaldring 43
70569 Stuttgart
Tel. (0711) 685-66854
Fax (0711) 685-66842
E-Mail: andreas.voss@ifsw.uni-stuttgart.de

Projektpartner

LIMO Lissotschenko Mikrooptik GmbH
Manz Automation AG
Schott Solar AG
Solarwatt Cells GmbH
Trumpf Laser GmbH & Co. KG
Universität Stuttgart, Institut für Physikalische Elektronik
Universität Stuttgart, Institut für Strahlwerkzeuge